Tags

, , , , ,

I just got back from my first writing conference, and talk about a completely wonderful experience. My sister and I went to the Backspace Writers Conference in New York and we had a blast and learned a lot.

Best part about the conference: Meeting tons of really great and talented writers who all have similar dreams and ambitions. Also, meeting Janet Reid. She is as funny and charming in person as she is on her blogs.

Funniest Panel: “What Literary Agents Want” with Carrie Pestritto, Janet Reid, Jennifer Laughran. Like is said earlier, Janet Reid is truly charming.

Panel that gave me the most to think about: Self Publishing vs. Traditional Publishing with Maria Murnane. This Panel was so full of great information that by the end of it, my wrist was hurting from all the mad writing I had to do to take it all down.

Best Workshop: I don’t really think I can answer that, every workshop gave me something to really think about and work on. But here are some of the points that I took away from this whole conference:

-Do NOT write what you know, write what you learn.

-Don’t ever write in a way that your character is detached from his/her body. (Example: She felt her hand quiver)

-Never let two words do the work of one.

-Do not write at any other than your best moments.

-You can add micro tension to any scene to make it better.

Okay, so I learned a lot more than just that, but I think I want to sit and digest it all before talking about it on this blog. At the moment, I really want to go through my story and work on everything I learned from Donald Maas’ workshop about tension.

Best Lunch: Max Brenner. It had the greatest hot chocolate, ever! Just check out my awesome picture above.

All in all, I had a great trip, and a great experience. Now I’m going to get back to work and make my novel the best story it can possibly be.

-Kati

