Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

As Kati so kindly reminded me, it was my turn to put up a book recommendation yesterday, and I totally dropped the ball.  Sorry, all.  I actually have a confession to make about that… <leans in and whispers> I haven’t been reading.  At all.

Honestly, I haven’t sat down and read a book for weeks now, which feels really strange to me.  I’m normally one of those people who carries a book around in her purse, just in case, but I’ve actually been going out of my way to avoid reading.

You see, I cannot read responsibly.  I just can’t.  Once I start reading a book, I stop doing everything else, including writing, and especially editing.  So, until Kati and I are finished going through Mystic Cooking for the seven hundredth time, I’ve been forcing myself not to open a book.

In the meantime, I’ve still been listening to books, just slowly.  So, instead of a book recommendation for this week, I’m going to recommend you check out audible.com.  I signed up for an account and I love it – you pay a monthly fee and choose an audio book each month.  Right now I’m listening to “A Storm of Swords,” the third book in George R.R. Martin‘s song of fire and ice series.  Roy Dotrice is the narrator, and he does an amazing job, acting out different voices for different characters.

And in case you need a recommendation, do pick up the first book in the series, “A Game of Thrones.”  This is my third time “reading” through this series, and I’m still truly impressed by the way Martin is able to create such complex characters.

