Tags

, , ,

Image

Well, here’s your fiction Friday!  Today I am recommending “The Rook,” by Daniel O’Malley.  I know, today isn’t technically Friday, but Sunday is supposedly the new Friday, right?  In either case, my excuse for being late on this recommendation is that I got a new place!  So I’ve been filling out paperwork, you know, the lease agreement and all that, and boxing up my millions of books (only a slight exaggeration).  But in any case, now onto “The Rook.”

The story is about Myfanwy Thomas, and it starts off with her opening her eyes and being surrounded by dead bodies.  She has no memories of who she is, and all she knows is the woman who she used to be is dead.  Through letters from the old Myfawny Thomas, the new one learns of her role in the highly secretive organization, known as the Chequy, and she starts to try and figure out how she lost her memories, and who in the organization is trying to kill her.

The book really is like a grown up Harry Potter in a lot of ways.  The Chequy is a whole organization of people trying to keep the mundanes from learning of the supernatural things going on around them.  But the way Daniel O’Malley creates his world, it’s full of unique and really imaginative creatures, and with some nice new twists to the couple of creatures that you may be used to seeing in fantasy stories. On top of that, “The Rook” is action-packed and full of great humor.  Over all I would give it at least 4 out of 5 stars.

The characters were great, the setting easy to picture, the concepts were new, and it made me laugh out loud.  This is definitely a book I’ll be reading again sometime.  But, for those of you who are squeamish about violence, a lot of people die in some horrible, yet creative ways.  So, you are now officially warned.  Well, I hope you enjoyed my recommendation.  Have a great rest of the weekend!

