Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Alright, so we’ve been on a temporary blogging hiatus, and it took a gentle nudge to get us back here at Mystic Cooking HQ, so thanks, Jae, for nominating us! According to the rules of the Booker Award Nomination, we needed to choose our top five books.  Being a writing team of two people, it took a while before both Kati and I were able to agree on our top five, but after a brief and friendly negotiation…

negotiations begin…

<ahem> we were able to come up with our list.  Here goes:

1. “In the Hand of the Goddess” by Tamora Pierce:

HEIDI: Honestly, we wanted to put the entire “Lioness Quartet” series on here, as well as “the Immortals”, but limited to one book, this was the clear favorite for both of us.  I can’t even count the number of times I’ve read this book.  Alanna’s character still inspires me–

KATI: I agree, although Numair is hotter than George Cooper, and Jonathan…

HEIDI: I think we can all agree that Kati doesn’t know what she’s talking about.  Still, we both love this book – great characters, lots of action, a truly charismatic villain…I could go on and on.

KATI: But please don’t.  Moving on…

#2. “A Matter of Magic” by Patricia C. Wrede

KATI: I’ve read this book about a hundred times, so it was a clear choice for the top five.  Great characters, great chemistry between the characters, and I just really like the light-hearted tone for this.  It’s the kind of book I pick up whenever I need something to cheer me up.

#3. “Neverwhere” by Neil Gaiman

HEIDI: Vandemar and Croup.  Best…villains…ever! I can’t tell you how many times since reading this book I’ve asked Kati if she knows what her liver tastes like…

KATI: Or I’ve told Heidi her days are numbered, and I’m not talking double digits.

HEIDI: Exactly.  Excellent dialogue, and a really interesting idea.  I always think about the possibility of people slipping between the cracks and inhabiting a world just slightly removed from our own.  It’s a definite must read.

#4. “A Wrinkle in Time” by Madeleine L’Engle

KATI: Here’s another book that’s falling apart at the seams due to overuse.  The characters are believable, and it’s a good escape from reality.  Very creative idea, and the main villain is nicely creepy.

HEIDI: I almost couldn’t have said it better myself. ;p

KATI: …you know, there is such a thing as a tesseract…

#5. “Biting the Sun” by Tanith Lee

HEIDI: I’m not really sure why I love this book so much, honestly.  I think it’s because when I first read it, I really felt like I related to the main character.  It launched me into this whole Tanith Lee buying craze where I would compulsively seek out all of her books every time I went into a used bookstore, but I could never find another copy of this particular book.

KATI: I used to have to beat Heidi back with a stick – she was always trying to steal my copy.  Originally, I bought it because it had an awesome cover, but the story definitely didn’t disappoint.

HEIDI: Proving that sometimes, you can choose a book by its cover.  🙂 This came out long before the current dystopian craze, and it’s still one of the more unique futures I’ve seen.  If you haven’t already, read it.

So there you have it.  Being new to this whole Booker Award Nomination, we’re kind of stumbling through, but the rules for participation are:

  1. Nominate 5-10 bloggers and let your recipients know.
  2. Post The Booker Award picture.
  3. Share your top 5 books of all time.

Our nominees are:

Hopefully we did this all correctly.  Good luck to our nominees!

