Tags

, , , , , , ,

HEIDI: Today, in honor of our Halloween-themed blog posts, I wanted to take a survey of some of our favorite creepy short stories.

#1. The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allen Poe

My absolute favorite short story ever.  When I rediscovered my love of writing in college, I found myself reading a lot of Poe so, when it was time to write my first story, I emulated “The Tell-Tale Heart,” creating an unreliable narrator (my favorite kind) who may or may not be either crazy or possessed by a murderous ghost.

#2. The Lottery by Shirley Jackson

I read this story a long time ago, but it still sticks with me.  What makes it so good? Well, just the dichotomy between the idyllic beginning – the whole community, out together for a nice festival, all the kids playing…and then what happens next.  I won’t give it away – it’s definitely one you need to read for yourself.

And now it’s Kati’s turn:

KATI: Since I didn’t go on an Edgar Allen Poe kick in college, and I read more mythology short stories, I really only have two creepy stories to talk about and recommend.

#1. Usher II by Ray Bradbury

I read this book in high school, but the story stuck in my head.  What’s interesting about it is its allusions to some of Poe’s stories.  But what I liked even better was how this short story felt like a follow up to Ray Bradbury’s “Fahrenheit 451,” even though I believe he wrote this story first.

#2. The Most Dangerous Game by Richard Connell

Okay, so this particular story really isn’t all that creepy, but I still found it a fascinating read.  I don’t really want to talk about the details of what it’s about since it is a short story, and anything might give away the ending.  But this short story is a classic, and if you haven’t read it, I strongly recommend it.

HEIDI: I would have to disagree – “The Most Dangerous Game” is very creepy…nicely creepy.  Good choices!

KATI: Thank you! Well, that’s it for us. What about you?  Any creepy stories you would recommend?

