Tags

, , , , , , ,

We have nothing to fear but fear itself…and spiders.

One of the things I love about this time of year is seeing all the different creative Halloween decorations, but lately I’ve also been seeing a ton of spiders.  Real, creepy, eight-legged, web-spewing spiders.  I was going to put a picture up here, but figured Kati would disown me, and then finishing up Mystic Cooking would be a little difficult.  So instead, you get this:

And back to spiders.  Generally I try not to think about them, but in the interests of Halloween I started thinking of all the fantasy books I’ve read over the years that featured huge man-eating spiders.  Top of the list would be “The Hobbit,” by J.R.R. Tolkien, followed closely by “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets,” by J.K. Rowling.  And…I started drawing a blank.

I know I’ve seen them in other books; I feel like they’re kind of a staple in a lot of fantasy.  So, help me out…where else have you read about giant spiders? (And sorry, Kati – this will probably be the only spider post I do.  Probably.)

