Tags

, , , , , , , ,

So according to Kati, today we’re supposed to give you a “really good blog post.”  No pressure or anything…  😉  Since we’re still doing our Halloween-fest, I thought it might be a good chance to talk about scary books.

There’s one book I read as a child that has stuck with me twenty years later.  I can still vividly remember the terrifying twist at the end, and I get goosebumps just thinking about it.  Which is appropriate because it was part of R.L. Stine’s “Goosebumps” series…remember those? I know I read many of them, but the only one that’s stuck with me is “Let’s Get Invisible,” about a kid who discovers a magic mirror in the attic that can turn him invisible.  Of course he and his friends have a great time playing with it…until things turn deadly.

Okay, my description doesn’t really do it justice, but I don’t want to give away the plot because the ending is what scared the bejeezus out of me.  And speaking of scary, R.L. Stine recently wrote a horror book for adults…true, my last experience reading an adult book from a children’s author didn’t end so well, but I think I might give it another go.

So, how about you? What is the scariest book you remember reading as a child? What made it so terrifying?

