Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s another October Fiction Friday, and I figured we talked enough about ghosts for the moment, so instead of another ghost story, I’m going to recommend “The Forest of Hands and Teeth” by Carrie Ryan.

Now I’m not normally a fan of the zombie stories for books or for movies (except “Shaun of the Dead” and “Zombieland” of course), but “The Forest of Hands and Teeth” is a fantastic, engaging read.  The main character, Mary, is kick-ass in a believable way, and the romance definitely isn’t lacking in chemistry.  The world Carrie Ryan built is easy to visualize, surrounded by fences holding back the moaning undead.  Even if it’s a world that I wouldn’t necessary want to live in, it’s one that I found myself thinking about long after I was done reading it.

One of the other things I found intriguing about this book is that even though it is a zombie post apocalyptic novel, the word zombie isn’t said even once.  So, if you’re looking for a good book to read this Halloween, I would recommend “The Forest of Hands and Teeth.”  Enjoy!  🙂

