Tags

, , , , , , ,

So, thanks to Kati’s complaints earlier this week the weather decided to get even, and it was pouring this morning.  I actually like the rain – it’s a good excuse to burrow under my snuggie with a good book and a cup of hot chocolate.  Unfortunately, though, I had to work this morning, where I enjoy the rain a little less.

me at my job

Still, it does make everything into a bit more of an adventure.  And that made me think about the role of weather in books.  Kati had asked which books used weather most effectively, and George R.R. Martin‘s “Game of Thrones” series came immediately to mind.

For those of you who haven’t read this series yet, I highly recommend it, but proceed with caution: I finally convinced my husband to try reading them, and he ended up taking a semester off grad school and doing nothing for a month until he was finished.  Yes, they’re that hard to put down.

Anyways, in Martin’s world seasons last for years.  A long summer means an even longer winter, and the summer drifting to an end in the first book is the longest the land has ever seen.  And as the series progresses and all the farmers are having their crops burned and their planting disrupted by the nobles’ game of thrones, you can’t help but wonder how anyone will survive what’s sure to be a long and brutal winter.  Eventually, I’m pretty sure all the politics won’t even matter as everyone will be starving to death.

This is one of the most effective uses of weather to create micro-tension that I have ever seen in a novel.

How about you? What books have you read that use weather to create micro-tension?

