Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

KATI: We have read many books where the villain is all we can think about when we are done reading.  So here’s a list of some of the greatest and/or most memorable villains of all time…or at least in our opinions.  😉

The Amusing Villain(s):

KATI: I would have to say the most amusing villains I’ve ever read about are Mr. Vandemar and Mr. Croup from Neil Gaiman’s “Neverwhere.”  These villains cracked me up with their witty lines through to the very end.  At some points I kind of found myself not wanting these two characters to lose…almost.

HEIDI: Well said, Kati.  In fact, Vandemar and Croup are a huge part of the reason why “Neverwhere” is one of my favorite books.  I really like how they are funny and witty, but still scary.  They never degenerated into the Disneyfied goofball villain that you know is always going to fail ridiculously.

The Charismatic Villain:

KATI: In my humble and never wrong opinion–

HEIDI: <cough> <cough>

KATI: …Duke Roger from Tamora Pierce’s “The Song of the Lioness Quartet” series is the most charismatic villain.  He has charm, good looks, intelligence, power both magical and political, and everyone seems to love him.  His one minor fault is that he wants his family dead so he can be king.  That’s not too much to ask for, is it?

HEIDI: Seems like a small thing.  Also, you forgot to mention he’s an excellent dresser.

KATI: That he is.

HEIDI: I’m trying to think of another even more charismatic villain so I’m not forced to agree with you again, but I really liked Duke Roger…you might be two for two here.

KATI: Well, while we’re on the subject of Tamora Pierce’s villains, I also think Emperor Ozorne from the Immortals series deserves an honorable mention.  Yes, he is less subtle than Duke Roger, but with a title like the Emperor Mage, who needs subtleties?

The Most Evil Villain:

KATI: Joffrey from George R.R. Martin’s “A Game of Thrones” is by far the most evil character I have ever read about.  I read “A Game of Thrones” awhile ago, but just last week my boyfriend started watching the first season of the HBO show and I kept telling him all along that Joffrey is an evil little s**t that deserves to die a horrible nasty death.  He didn’t believe me.  “Oh, he’s just a spoiled kid, he won’t be so bad when he’s older,” he would say.  “It’s just his mother’s influence on him.”

Anyways, just the other day, my boyfriend was watching the last episodes while I read in my room, and he came bursting in.  “Joffrey is an evil little s**t, and I hope he dies a horrible death!” he declared.

So, the moral of the story is that Joffrey is an evil little s**t and is, in my opinion, the most evil villain in any book I have ever read.

HEIDI: I have to disagree.  I mean, I agree that Joffrey is completely evil and all, but I also feel like he is a product of his environment.  He grew up being spoiled, his mother telling him he can make the world however he wants it – of course he’s going to be a little warped.

KATI: A little?

HEIDI: You just hate him because of that whole business with Lady.

KATI: Well, that and–

HEIDI: Spoilers!

KATI: Well then, who would you choose?

HEIDI: <no hesitation> Umbridge.

The Most Evil Female Villain:

KATI: If Joffrey had never contaminated the pages of the novel world, Professor Umbridge from “Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix” would have been the most evil character I have ever read about.  As it is, she will just have to satisfy herself with being the most evil female villain I have ever read about.  I don’t even think I can put words to the anger and frustration she made me feel while reading this Harry Potter book, but maybe Heidi can.

HEIDI: I have never wanted to reach into a book and strangle a character more.  I think it’s because she took such delight in being so evil.

KATI: There are many other villains that we found memorable, and we can probably sit here all day naming them, but we’ll let you do that instead.  So, who is your favorite villain, and who do you think is the most evil villain?

