Tags

, , , , , , , ,

KATI: Earlier this week, Heidi and I went to watch “The Perks of Being a Wallflower.”  I have not read the book yet, but I’m told that the movie does do it justice.  The characters are all likeable, and the story is speckled with laugh out-loud funny moments amongst all the really sad and dark parts.  Over all, the message was one of hope, that life does get better.

I liked this movie, and I’m glad I saw it, although I can’t really say that it’s a movie that I’ll be watching over and over again.  I do want to read the book sometime in the near future, though, and I would recommend this movie to pretty much anyone.

HEIDI: I listened to the audio version of this book before watching the movie.  First of all, it’s a great listen – Noah Galvin narrates the story extremely well, so well that I’ll probably listen to other books just because he’s narrating.  Stephen Chbosky wrote the book and the screenplay, which is probably why the movie followed the book so well.

I thought Charlie, the narrator, was a delightful character.  Even during his “bad times,” he’s someone I enjoyed following around, and I liked how every book he read became his absolute favorite book ever.  There are some very dark and serious issues brought up, and as Kati mentioned, it can be pretty sad at times, but the book, like the movie, ends with a message of hope: it gets better, and you can choose to participate in the life you want.  I think that’s an important message for anyone struggling through middle or high school, when it feels like every day could be the end of the world.

I’m not sure this is a book I’ll reread either, but I think it’s definitely worth at least one time through.  Here’s the real challenge, though – can you read this and then not listen to The Smiths afterwards? 😉

