Tags

, , , , , ,

On Friday Kati and I talked about “The Perks of Being a Wallflower,” and how the book was successfully translated into a movie.  In fact, this was one of those few times where I don’t know which I preferred, the book or the movie, and that almost never happens.

Loved the movie! Loved it! But…yes, the book was better, much better…

In my experience, the book is almost always a lot better than any movie could be, mostly because movies are unable to fit in all the fun side plots, extra details, or the power of your imagination as you read.  So, whenever I read a book and then go to see the movie, one of two things usually happens:

1.) I enjoy the movie as kind of a side piece supplementing the book, telling everyone, “yeah, it wasn’t bad, but you should really read the book,” (yes, I’m one of those people) or

2.) I’m filled with fury at how the movie has destroyed the integrity of the book, the characters, and all they stand for.

So, how about you? How do you feel about book-to-movie experiences, and which ones are your favorites?

