Tags

, , , , ,

We are now joining Jay over at Lit Scribbles in blogging about things we love, and for this first post I actually had a lot of trouble thinking of something.  There are just so many things that I love, that it was hard to narrow it down to one topic.  So for this first post I’m going to talk about trails.

I think my love of trails stems from my childhood, and how Heidi, our friends, and I would go exploring the woods.  There was a winter where all the streams were frozen around our house, and we just went exploring all up and down them.  We had a total blast until the ice got thinner, and we started breaking through.  By the time we got home we were cold, wet, and…well we were still in pretty chipper moods, unlike the time we ran into a yellow-jackets’ nest, but that’s not really a story I want to think about.

Part of what I love about trails is that while I’m running on them I feel like I’m free and I’m flying.  It’s almost like there are no worries in the world, and I’m just surrounded by beauty.  The other thing I love about them is that I often have inspirations for both my stories and my drawings.  In fact there’s a park not too far from where I live called Quicksilver, and I Heidi and I have a story that we have already been discussing that will take place there.  We’re thinking something along the lines a “Pan’s Labyrinth,” but a wee bit lighter.

So how about you?  Do you have trails that you like to go on?  What places inspire your writing?  And what do you love?

