Tags

, , , , ,

Okay, I know this is Saturday, not Friday…I had this whole post written Thursday, but never got around to scheduling it due to a crazy series of events which I’ll probably go into in a later blog post.  In the meantime…here’s your weekend dose of fiction!

A few weeks back I set myself a reading challenge where I’ll be reading (and reviewing) all ten books chosen by the YALSA for 2012.  Since I already read “Divergent” much earlier, I had to read the second book on the list, John Green’s “The Fault in Our Stars.”

First of all, let me tell you that I was NOT looking forward to reading this book.  True, John Green is a very good writer and I knew it would be well-done, but it’s a story about a girl with terminal cancer who falls in love.  There’s no way it’s going to have a happy ending.

And John Green never pretends this is anything other than a story about a girl with terminal cancer – we find out in the first page that she has limited time.  Still, as I read (and by “read” I mean listened to – I checked out the audio narrated by Kate Ruddamazing) I found myself really, really enjoying this story.  Hazel is a great main character, very realistic about her future and chances, and yet not at all depressing to hang around with for the book.

Augustus Waters is quite possibly one of the best written love interests I’ve ever come across.  Vibrant, funny, with those great dialogue lines that John Green is known for creating, I was half in love with him by the end of the book.  And the book itself is strangely full of hope, even during its sad moments.

So, for those of you hesitating because this is “a cancer story,” do yourselves a favor and read it anyways – you won’t be disappointed.  I’m just glad I forced myself to give it a chance.  And if you don’t believe me that it’s worth it, check out this review by Laura Lee Anderson.  Convinced yet? 😉

How about you? Have you ever been pleasantly surprised by a book?

