Tags

, , , ,

**Breaking news! Breaking news! Pitch Wars has ended, and the teams have been announced! You can check out the results on Brenda Drake’s blog here. We were selected as alternates for both Elizabeth Briggs and Elizabeth Prats, which makes us…double alternates? Not sure, but we’re still excited.  We’re even more excited for our friend, Jae, who is the first pick and is moving on to the agent round with her awesome story, SHADE.

We’d just like to take a moment to thank Brenda Drake for putting on this contest, and all the mentors who participated.  There were somewhere between 1,000 and 2,000 entries, and it sounds like almost all of the mentors sent out personalized feedback to their subs, which is pretty amazing.  So, THANK YOU! It has been a great experience and we’re excited to cheer on our teams in the next round.**

And now…back to our regularly scheduled post.  🙂

So, just the other week Jae over at Lit and Scribbles nominated us for the R.E.A.L.I.T.Y. award.  Now that we have finished going through our joint posts on how we go about co-writing a book together, we thought it was about time to answer the questions for this award.

REALITY Blog Awards

  1. Display the award logo on your blog.
  2. Link back to the person who nominated you.
  3. Answer the questions.
  4. Pass the award onto to any other bloggers you want — and link to one of their specific posts so that they get notified by ping back.

If you could change something what would you change?

KATI: I’m not really sure.  Maybe I would make the Tardis real.  But honestly, the things that I really want changed I should have the ability to change.

HEIDI: That feels like a cop-out answer. >: (

KATI: Fine, then, what would you change?

HEIDI: I’d give myself the ability to go back in time 60 seconds.  That way I could fix all my stupid mistakes before they happen.  I’m about to trip over that root? Not anymore! Accidentally crashed my cousin’s car into a post? No, never happened!

KATI: I’m not sure “adding superpowers” was the point of this question, but moving on…

If you could relive one day, when would it be?

KATI: The day Mystic Cooking is released in bookstores everywhere…wait, does it have to be a day that’s already passed?

HEIDI: Hmm, tough one.  I’ve had a lot of good days to relive, but the one that comes to mind is from a few years ago when I went camping with Kati, my husband, and our dog.  We packed nothing to eat but Costco muffins for the whole trip, and one day we discovered the lodge near our campsite was having all-you-can-eat tacos and margaritas.  Let me tell you, after a week of eating nothing but increasingly stale muffins, those tacos tasted like a little slice of heaven.

KATI: That’s your best day? Eating tacos?

HEIDI: You can’t pretend you didn’t love that day, too.  Plus we went canoeing.  And we were camping at Paulina Lake, the best place ever.

KATI: True, true.  But I’m still not sure why we only packed muffins…

What’s one thing that really scares you?

KATI: One word: Spiders.  Seriously, the only thing that would make them more terrifying is if you gave them wings.

HEIDI: Great, now I have a new fear: flying spiders.  >: (  Thanks a lot.

KATI: Don’t mention it.  Seriously.  <shudder>

What one dream have you not completed yet, and do you think you will be able to complete it?

KATI: Since I think Heidi is probably going to go the whole getting published route, I will give you a different answer.  I always dreamed of going to the Olympics.  I gave up this dream a few years ago when I realized (thought?) it might be holding me back from achieving all my other dreams.  Besides, there was no way of knowing for sure if I would make it.  Now it’s definitely too late for me to ever make this dream a reality, but every now and then I still think about it, and I still wonder if…

HEIDI: I also dream of going to the Olympics, but I’m too old now.  I made it to the Olympic Trials back in the days of my youth in 2004, but that’s as far as that dream’s going to go, I’m afraid.  My new dream? Getting into Dancing with the Stars.

KATI: You don’t dance.

HEIDI: I think the proper response is actually “you don’t dance well.”

KATI: Very true.  😉  You just didn’t want to mention your dream of being published because I brought it up, huh?

HEIDI: Pretty much.  But of course I’m hoping to be published, and I dream of seeing MYSTIC COOKING sitting there on a shelf someday, all glossy and beautiful.  Here’s hoping.

If you could be someone else for a day, who would you be?

KATI: Bill Gates, so I can transfer money to the Kati Bartkowski starving artist fund.  Kidding! Well…kind of.  I think I would want to be Alanna for a day.  I mean, who wouldn’t want to be a badass in a fantasy world?

HEIDI: That’s actually a good answer.

KATI: I know.  I thought of it, didn’t I? ; p

HEIDI: Hmm…I’d want to be George R.R. Martin so I could know how the “Song of Ice and Fire” series ends.  I’m not a patient woman.

I hereby optionally pass this award onto:

MoonstoneMaiden, who recently received a few other awards, but not this one…yet.  Here are more questions for you to answer! 😉  Looking forward to seeing your answers!

Jo, who always has such great book reviews and author interviews on her blog, weartheoldcoat.  If you haven’t yet, you should definitely check her blog out.

And PictureMeReading, who has great posts on all sorts of books, characters, authors, etc.; check out her blog but be warned: it will force you to add to your to-be-read list.

