Tags

, , , , , , ,

This Friday I have decided to do a double recommendation since we haven’t done a Fiction Friday in a long time.

The first book I’m going to recommend is “The City of Bones” by Cassandra Clare.  It’s a well done book in the sense that I tore right through it, and it kept my attention the entire time.  The world building was great and imaginative, I liked how Cassandra Clare created tension throughout, and I would recommend this book for those reasons alone.

What I did have a bit of an issue with was that the plot, up until the very end was a little bit predictable.  I’m usually okay with a little bit of predictability, but there were times it annoyed me that it took the main character so long to figure out things I had figured out a long time ago.  In general, I liked the main characters, but I did feel that they could be a little wishy-washy.  The only other thing I didn’t particularly care for was the ending.  I’m not going to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read this book, and I wouldn’t say it was poorly done, it’s just not the ending I had been hoping for.

All-in-all though, this book is fast-paced and action-packed.  If you like those qualities in a book, then I would recommend “The City of Bones.”

Now the second book I’m going to recommend is “Matched,” by Ally Condie.  I read it for the second time earlier this week, and I just love this book.  I’m not going to go on and rant and rave about it, but Ally Condie also does a good job with her world building.  Her world really does remind me of Camazotz from “A Wrinkle in Time,” and Cassia, the main character, is a good mix of tough and completely believable.

Lately I’ve been getting a little sick of the love triangles, but this is one of the few more recent books where I was okay with it, mainly because the love story brought attention to everything that was wrong with that world.  That, and Ky, the main love interest, is really intriguing and sympathetic.

Anyways, “Matched” is a great read if you do like a good mix of dystopian with your romance.  Now, I’m going to go on to read “Crossed.” 🙂

So what books have you read recently?  And what books are you planning on reading for the holidays?

