Tags

, , , ,

Happy Fiction Friday, everyone!

Last week I was trying to figure out what book to read when one of my fellow TeamBriggs pitch warriors recommended “Paranormalcy” by Kiersten White.  My to-be-read list is already about 75 feet long, but I decided to check it out, and downloaded the sample on my kindle. I finished the sample, immediately bought the book, then finished it by the next morning.  So…it’s pretty good.  😉

Here’s the premise, for those of you who haven’t checked it out yet: Armed with a glittery pink taser named Tasey and the ability to see through all glamours, sixteen-year-old Evie works full-time for the International Paranormal Containment Agency, tagging and bagging paranormals so they can be properly neutralized and studied.  When she finds a new kind of paranormal, however, she starts to question her worldview and her own abilities.  Meanwhile something outside the Agency is killing paranormals, and Evie is sure her evil ex-boyfriend is behind it.  After all, you can never trust a faerie.

I’ve looked at this book in the past, but never picked it up; when it first came out I was taking a break from paranormal stories and wasn’t particularly interested in this one.  However, White puts a new twist on the idea of vampires, werewolves, and especially faeries.  These faeries are cunning, terrifying, manipulative creatures, and I loved them. In this world faeries are bound to obey any commands they are given using their real names, but they are extremely good at misinterpreting these commands for their own self interests.

Evie is a fun character to spend time with as well, and I enjoyed the romance and writing.  The story reminded me a little of a cross between Buffy (think the Initiative) and Shanna Swendson’s “Enchanted, Inc.” All in all, definitely worth the time.  Plus the second and third books in the series are already out, so no need to wait around, which is always nice.

How about you? Any good books you were initially reluctant to try?

