Tags

, , , , , , ,

A couple of weeks back I did a post recommending MATCHED by Ally Condie, and soon after I read the rest of the series.  I really liked these books, and I felt that they were really well done, so this post I’m going to be recommending the next two books in the series.

CROSSED:

CROSSED pretty much picked up where MATCHED left off, and in this book you get to see the outer provinces, and you also find out that there was more going on in the first book than what initially met the eyes.  Some of the things that I really liked about this book were meeting some new, intriguing characters, and seeing things from Kai’s perspective.

Even with Kai’s perspective, CROSSED was not quite as strong of a book as MATCHED, and felt like the relationship between Cassia (the main character) and Kai was a bit strained and irritating at times.  However, it’s still a good book, and worth reading with the rest of the series.

REACHED:

REACHED was a stronger book than CROSSED, and even though I like MATCHED best, I can see why some people might like REACHED better.  In REACHED you get Cassia, Kai, and Xander’s perspective, and the romance between Cassia and Kai is as sweet as it was in the first book.  Plus there are some intense moments as the book also deals with a subject that I find almost as scary as spiders…plague.

I’m not going to say much more since I don’t really want to give too much away in case you haven’t read this series.  The only thing else I want to add is that I love the symbolism of the cover art, and how the color schemes match the colors of the pills the characters carry in the books.  The artists who designed these covers did a beautiful, brilliant job.

Anyways, if you haven’t read these books yet, and you like romance and dystopian novels, you need to read these.

So, how about you?  Any good books you would like to recommend?  Any books you are particularly looking forward to reading?

