Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s Fiction Friday everyone, and not to be outdone by Kati, I decided I’d review my own trilogy.  So read on for the Across the Universe Trilogy by Beth Revis.

First up is Across the Universe.  I read this book when it first came out in 2011.  I remember reading the sample on my kindle…it starts off with this super intense opening where one of the main characters, Amy, is about to be frozen for a three-hundred-year space journey to a new planet.  By the time I finished the sample I clicked “buy now” right away, no hesitation.

The book is told in alternating POV chapters, with the main characters Amy, the girl from Earth, and Elder, a boy born on the spaceship Godspeed.  In the first book, I felt like the middle dragged a little, but the last third more than made up for it with very tight pacing racing to the end.  I don’t want to give away any spoilers, but there’s something fishy going on on Godspeed, and Amy and Elder have to find out what it is before all of the other frozen people are killed…there’s another good twist to it, too, that I especially liked.  But I’ll say no more on that.

I read the second book, A Million Suns, very recently. This book deals with yet another secret, as well as a series of clues Amy and Elder will have to figure out if the people aboard the spaceship will survive. The big mystery? Why haven’t they reached the planet yet? And why were the frozen people targeted in the first book? Specifically, the frozen military people…are the people born on Godspeed really destined to be their slaves or soldiers?

I figured out most of the secrets before they were revealed, but still enjoyed reading along to confirm I was right, and again, for the most part this book is well plotted and exciting. A lot of times in trilogies the second installment lags a little, and I would say this is probably the weakest of the three books, but it was still good enough that I rushed on to read the third book right after, so well worth your time.

The final book of the trilogy, Shades of Earth, might even be my favorite of the three.  This book deals with the new planet, and Revis does a great job of describing this new setting and then diving right into a new mystery. People are dying, almost as if they’re being personally targeted by whatever is already occupying the planet, and Amy and Elder’s people will have to figure out why and learn how to fight back if they want to survive on their new home.  Only…there’s much more to it than that. Who to trust? Who to believe? And what sort of secret mission is Amy’s father running?

So, if you like science fiction, mysteries, and romance, you’ll probably like these books. Don’t believe me? Check out Sasha’s glowing review here.

How about you? Recommend any other good trilogies?

