Tags

, , , , ,

I know, I know, it’s not Fiction Friday, but in honor of Love Month I read a romantic YA story and I wanted to share it with you. I’d have waited until Friday, but apparently Kati has decided to one-up my trilogy review with a review of, like, ten books in a series…I can’t compete with that, so Fiction Monday for me it is! 😉

First of all, I’m generally more of a YA fantasy or sci fi kinda girl, but I’m trying to branch out into more contemporary. I heard a lot of great things about Stephanie Perkins’ “Anna and the French Kiss,” so I decided I’d give it a shot.

The Good: very cute story, the love interest is hot, and there’s great chemistry between the two lead characters. Perkins does a nice job of describing the setting as well; I felt like I was really seeing Paris, which added an extra element of fun. The pacing was pretty good – I sat down and read this book in a day, so it definitely kept my attention pretty well. And Anna and Etienne’s inevitable make out scene is well-written and steamy – always important in a romance.

The Less Good: Anna kind of annoyed me a little bit at times. While I don’t think one girl can really “claim” a guy she’s interested in but not actually dating, I still felt like Anna sort of used her friendship with Meredith (probably my favorite character in the book) without really being a true friend back. Also, it bothered me that Etienne, the hottest guy in the entire school, immediately liked Anna so much. From day one he seemed interested in her, and love stories like that always read more like wish fulfillment to me than real love.

My final verdict? Despite any flaws, this book delivered exactly what I was looking for: a fun, enjoyable romance with likable characters, strong setting, and great chemistry. So if you’re looking for a fun, cute love story, it’s worth picking up.

How about you? Any cute love stories out there you’d recommend? Please share – I’m in the mood for more book love. 😉

**side note: Notice I’m only putting one space after periods now? Yeah, apparently my old school ways are wrong…but man is it a hard habit to break! So if, like me, you’re looking to brush up on your editing skills, check out Jae’s awesome editing series over at Lit and Scribbles.**

