Tags

, , , ,

HEIDI: It’s list time, everyone! I know Valentine’s Day is a made-up Hallmark holiday, but I still think love is something to be celebrated. And what better way to celebrate than curled up watching a good romantic movie? I mean, if you don’t have time to read, that is. πŸ˜‰

KATI: So, here’s our list of the top five romantic movies. We didn’t agree 100% on all of them…

HEIDI: Someone, and I’m not going to name any names here, had an issue with #1.

KATI: It’s an okay movie, but–

HEIDI: It’s the greatest movie of all time!!! >: (

KATI: …

HEIDI: I guess you’ll all have to decide for yourselves, but here’s what we came up with.

#1: Moulin Rouge

HEIDI: As I said above <ahem> not only is this the greatest romantic movie, it’s also the greatest movie of all time.

KATI: Repeating that a bunch of times doesn’t make it true…

HEIDI: Why is it TRULY the greatest movie? Well, it has over-the-top characters, costumes, and great music, plus such a tragic love story. Anything that combines a musical with great dance numbers and love, plus Ewan McGregor, well, that’ll get my vote. Just be warned, it doesn’t have a happy ending.

#2: Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

KATI: This was my #1 choice, but since Heidi had final formatting say on this post, well, you see where it ended up.

HEIDI: #2 is still good! >: ( This is probably my second favorite movie of all time, too. I like it because it feels like a realistic love story – there’s good and there’s bad.

KATI:Β  At the start, the MC just remembers the bad, but as it progresses we get to see all the sweet and beautiful parts of his relationship. It’s also one of the few movies I can watch over and over again, and get something new out of it each time.

#3: Stardust

HEIDI: I love, love, love this movie! It’s this fun fantasy, but the love story inside it feels so real! I actually watched this one twice in the theaters, and it was worth every penny. Β Ah, Tristan…

KATI: While Heidi’s busy wiping the drool off her chin, I’ll just add besides having a great love story, there’s plenty of comedy and adventure to go with it.

#4: Garden State

HEIDI: This is another movie where the love story felt genuine to me. I liked that it didn’t feel the same as every other romantic comedy, but was a little strange, a little artsy.

KATI: Best part? When the MC is wearing a shirt that matches the bathroom decoration.

HEIDI: Gorgeous. πŸ˜‰

KATI: Heh heh. Maybe not the best part, but it cracks me up every time. This is one I could watch over and over again as well.

#5: Ten Things I Hate About You

HEIDI: Okay, this last spot was hard to fill, and I’m not sure if this would be the fifth movie or not…but I do know I like it a lot.

KATI: It’s a surprisingly fun movie, and full of great one-liners.

HEIDI: I can’t even count the number of times we’ve seen it.

KATI: 496. And a half.

HEIDI: …seems oddly accurate…

KATI: ; p

HEIDI: And if you’ve seen all those movies and you’re looking for something else, here’s my quick list of the top 3 honorable mentions:

1. Notting Hill (cute, cute movie. Even if you’re not a Hugh Grant fan, this one is pure romantic enjoyment)

2. Far and Away (probably one of the most romantic stories ever, and I love the strong female character)

3. Come September (this is an oldie but a goodie, and I never get tired of watching it. A true classic!)

KATI: Well, since apparently we’re adding to our “top FIVE list,” I guess here’s my three honorable mentions as well:

1. The Princess Bride (which would have made it into the top 5 if Heidi wasn’t so stubborn about Moulin Rouge being the greatest movie)

2.Β  French Kiss (this is a classic Meg Ryan romantic comedy, but it’s my favorite one that I’ve seen)

3.Β  Love Actually (alright, technically this one isn’t just about romantic love, but it’s still a great movie and has some really great love stories in it)

HEIDI: So there you have it – great romantic movies. In the meantime, I’m off to add to my list of Valentine’s Day movies with a showing of Die Hard #5 this week. Yippee kai yay!

KATI: How about you? Any movies you’d add to our list? And which do you think is better, Moulin Rouge or Eternal Sunshine? πŸ˜‰

