Tags

, , , , , , ,

Recently Amazon did it again – “buy this book,” they told me. “It’s only $2.99!” Well, love them or hate them (Kati refers to them as the “evil empire”) those daily deals of theirs are very addicting, and this time around I’m definitely glad I succumbed and bought Marie Lu’s “Legend.”

Legend” is similar in theme to “The Hunger Games” – it takes place in a Republic (formerly the west coast of America) that is very strictly controlled and full of government propaganda, and the pacing is fast and intense. The story itself, however, is quite a bit different.

Told in alternating points of view, the story focuses on Day, a criminal the Republic has been after for some time, and June, the newly minted Republic Agent assigned to track him down. I don’t think I’m giving anything away when I say there is some romantic tension between the two, and one of the things I liked best about this book is how it’s all set up. The obstacles keeping them apart are huge and very real, and even as you want them to be together, you can’t figure out how it could possibly work.

The alternating points of view keep the tension through the story very high, as one character knows something the other doesn’t and vice versa, and you can see them both hurrying to this terrible brink. I was almost surprised when I got to the end of the book because I didn’t realize how fast I was flipping the pages, and I immediately downloaded the sequel.

Prodigy” is just as good as the first book, possibly better. I don’t want to give anything away, but it keeps the alternating points of view, only the tension is even higher as June slowly discovers things are not quite what they seem, and Day has to decide whether to trust June or not. Honestly, I didn’t know what he would do, and this was one of those books where I wasn’t sure of the outcome as I was reading it.

“I couldn’t put it down” is a phrase often thrown around, so let me put it to you this way: I had other plans for the evening. I was supposed to do some cleaning, then meet my husband for a yoga date and dinner, possibly watch a show. What I actually did? Well, let’s just say I did not win the Wife of the Year award because I skipped all of that, and instead read this book. Yes, it’s that good.

How about you? When was the last time you threw all your plans out the window for a good book, and what book was it?

