Tags

, , , , , ,

KATI: We are now in the final week of our Month of Love, so we thought that now would be a good time to talk about another kind of love…family love.

HEIDI: I think in many ways it’s more difficult to write about family dynamics and get it right, than it is to write a good love story. A lot of times in a love story, the characters are either discovering each other for the first time, or rediscovering each other, whereas with parents and siblings, in most cases those people have been around for a long time, and the dynamics are already pretty firmly in place.

KATI: We’ve seen it done well, though, so here are some of our favorite book examples of family love.

Life as We Knew it

KATI: This book here is a great example of family love and how that love helps the characters in this book survive. What I particularly like about this book is how real the family dynamics feel. There is one scene where Miranda, the main character, gets into a fight with her mom. It’s a really intense scene that I imagine almost anyone can relate to.

HEIDI: I would totally have eaten that bag of chocolate chips, too…

KATI: Don’t I know it. πŸ˜‰

HEIDI: I liked how the characters were willing to sacrifice everything for each other – it definitely felt like a real family to me. Their world has gone crazy, but they support each other through it. I also really liked the sibling dynamic, as well as the treatment of the siblings by their mother. She clearly loves them all, but there’s this startling revelation the main character has when she realizes her mom has decided which of them will be the survivor. It felt painful and very real.

KATI: One other thing that I really liked about this book is that long after I had finished reading it, I kept thinking about it, and what I would do if the moon really did get hit out of its orbit and closer to earth.

The Extraordinary Secrets of April, May, and June

KATI: This book is super cute and sweet. I personally think it’s a must read for anyone with sisters, particularly anyone who is unlucky enough to have two sisters.Β  πŸ˜‰

HEIDI: One thing I liked about it is that the middle sister is actually the angry one here. Usually the middle child is portrayed as the peace keeper, or super needy.

KATI: The “super needy” bit is very accurate.

HEIDI: Yeah, yeah. ; p Still, I liked that May had all this rage in her,Β andΒ she felt invisible to people…literally.

KATI: I think the relationship between the sisters in this book is pretty accurate, and I love their interactions. I also can relate to just about all of them at different times. This book really is a fun, feel good book.

HEIDI: My favorite quote from it? When June tells April that even though she’s mad at her, she’s not going to let her go on a date rockin’ the uniboob. Hilarious.

A Wrinkle in Time

KATI: This book here is a classic example of family love. Seriously, Meg and Charles Wallace go across space to rescue their dad. If that’s not family love, than I don’t know what is.

HEIDI: I also loved the relationship between Meg and Charles. They are such different people, but you can really feel the bond between them. Plus it’s an awesome book – everyone should read this book.

KATI: Hear, hear!

How about you? What are some other great examples of family love that you’ve read?

