Tags

, , , , , , ,

Seeing as our WIP is all about a girl who cooks mystical food, I’m always on the lookout for similarly-themed books, so I was very excited to find “Bliss” by Kathryn Littlewood.

The main character is 12-year-old Rosemary, and instead of dragon cuisine she specializes in…well, running errands, mostly. But that all changes when her parents head out of town and leave her in charge of their bakery. One thing leads to another, and soon she’s cracking open their magical cookbook, whipping up love muffins and truth cookies, and upside-down-backwards-cake. As you can imagine, it turns into quite the sticky mess.

There was a lot I really enjoyed about this book. I loved the magical cooking recipes and ingredients, including things like the Secret of Time from the Dwarf of Perpetual Sleep, and the First Wind of Autumn. I also liked all the little detail work, like the fact that Rosemary and her siblings (Thyme, Sage, and Parsley) are all named after herbs. The writing is pretty good, and the overall story is cute and imaginative.

I did get a little annoyed with the main character, though, and her constant repetitive statements of “I’m not pretty enough…no one loves me…my siblings are all better than I am…I’m invisible…etc.” Don’t get me wrong, I’m a middle child, too, and I totally remember that awkward 12-year-old stage, so I could understand where she was coming from. That being said, I felt like we were told these things rather than just seeing them through the story and her actions in it. Also, we were told these things a lot, so it made it feel like the author was trying to drive home a point rather than unfold a tale.

Also, I wanted the villain to be more…villainous. I kept waiting for that moment when the mask would come off, and it didn’t really come. However, it did set everything up nicely for the second book, which looks fantastic, and in spite of the things I didn’t love about this story, I felt like overall it was a fun read. Most likely I’ll be picking up the sequel as well.

How about you? Any food-related books out there you’d recommend?

