Tags

, , , , , ,

Gordy made a new friend at our Easter party

Gordy made a new friend at our Easter party

Happy April Fools day, everyone! Hope you’ve all had a chance to play a good prank!

It’s time for the monthly round-up, so here’s what we’ve been up to here at Mystic Cooking HQ:

It was Middle Grade March, so we planned on covering more MG this past month. We started off strong with a discussion on the differences between YA versus MG. Then Kati found a delightful MG book which she has been talking about ever since. “You have to read this one, Heidi…you’re really going to love it! The characters are so over the top!” I still haven’t read it, but I definitely plan to. I mean, just check out its cover!

And speaking of covers, Kati did another MG versus YA post, this time featuring cover art. Notice a trend? We did. And I know you’ve all heard of judging a book by its cover, but have you ever judged a cover by its book? A.M.B. talks about that over at her blog.

Kati had to pick up some slack this past month because I was really busy watching a Korean drama doing super important stuff. Yes. Very important…but I did take the time to also read kind of a serious book about North Korea. It’s not MG by any means, but definitely worth checking out. And I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who gets addicted to dramas and soaps.

Back to MG, I read a classic which I’d recommend to all of you, and another magical-food story, which was very cute. And then the month was over…

As always, there were tons of great blog posts happening all around us as well, but this one really cracked me up. I’m still laughing – thanks, Kate! 🙂  And in honor of March, check out Jill’s lovely post about Spring in the South.

Moving forward, Jae has promised that April will be all about blogs. Kati and I will be participating in her great blog interview, and we’re looking forward to “meeting” many other fun bloggers, so definitely swing by and check it out. Over here at Mystic Cooking HQ we’re planning on doing a no-theme April so we can talk about all those random important things, like why do female TV characters constantly wear inappropriate footwear, or why, oh why, does my husband keep mixing up Dumbledore and Voldemort? So stay tuned for that. We’ll also be mixing in some of the MG posts we didn’t get to this past month.

Happy Spring, all!

