Tags

, , , ,

I admit it, when Harry Potter first came out I was highly skeptical. It became too popular too fast, so I wanted nothing to do with it. It wasn’t until years later, when the 6th book was first released, that I finally picked up Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

I’m still kicking myself for waiting so long.

Which brings me to my current dilemma – my husband will not read these books. Even worse, he deliberately gets details about them wrong. For example, he’ll call Dumbledore “He Who Must Not Be Named,” and has even, on one occasion, called me a “squibble.” I’m assuming he meant some sort of squib-muggle cross, but I couldn’t be sure.

Here’s part of an actual argument we had last year when I tried convincing him to read Harry Potter:

SEAN: Stop being such a Dumbledore.

HEIDI: Did you really just call me a Dumbledore?

SEAN: Yes, I really did.

HEIDI: Well that’s fine. It’s not even an insult, you know, because he’s the greatest wizard who ever lived.

SEAN: Do you even hear yourself right now? And you wonder why I haven’t read those books…

Okay, so when I took a step back I realized I sounded ridiculous. But you see what I have to deal with, here, right? I mean, something’s gotta change – I can’t live like this.

So, we finally, finally struck a deal. Just last week, actually. Here it is:

I have to read David Foster Wallace’s “Infinite Jest,” and in exchange, Sean will read at least three Harry Potter books. Sure, it’s over 1,000 pages long…literally…but it’ll be worth the invested time, I’m sure.

So there you have it. I’ll keep you posted…meanwhile, what’s the weirdest deal you ever made with someone? And has anyone else read this book? I want to know what I just got myself into…

