Tags

, ,

Right now my boyfriend is watching A Game of Thrones in the other room, so I’m hiding away from the TV.

You see, I read the first book several years ago, then I started reading the second book, and I realized about a quarter of the way through that I didn’t want to be thoroughly depressed, again, and that I wanted to read a happier series. Since then I have never tried to read another A Game of Thrones book.

Now I’m told the show is brilliantly done, and that some people even like it as much as the books, but the first scene I ever saw was where a minor (soon to be very dead) character was being tortured by rats. Not exactly a good introduction for someone who is not so keen on torture. It was at that point that I realized that I really didn’t want to watch the show, either. All those scenes I had trouble reading would be played out in a very graphic way right before my eyes, and I did not want to see it.

Before anyone tries to argue about what I’m missing out on, Heidi is very good at filling me in on every little detail that she’s read or watched, particularly the sad ones. I know pretty much every major event that goes on in this series, including the event that happened this Sunday that everyone blew up over, so I know exactly what I’m missing out on…great characters, great settings, great plot, but a whole lot of torture and death.  Thanks, but no thanks. 

The book was very well written, and I love how George R. R. Martin seemed to be inspired by history, so at no point in time was I sorry that I read it. Sometimes I do feel a little left out when everyone is watching A Game of Thrones, but in the end, I know that this series just is not for me.

So how about you? What shows/movies/books have you seen or read that you thought were really well done, but just weren’t for you?

