Tags

, , ,

I know, I know, this isn’t a book recommendation, but I just saw this delightful movie last night and had to gush about it.

So, I’ve been wanting to watch “Safety Not Guaranteed” ever since I heard about it, but it never happened, until last night all the stars aligned, and finally, finally, I got to rent this movie. And by “all the stars aligned” I mean it was my turn to pick a movie and the video store had it in stock. And yes, we still go to a video store… πŸ˜‰

The story starts off following this rather sad, lonely girl, Darius, who is working as an intern for a magazine. In the staff meeting, one of the journalists suggests following upΒ on a personal ad. This ad:

He thinks it could make an interesting story – see if this person really believes he or she can go back in time, or if it’s a prank, or what. The journalist gets assigned two interns, including Darius, and they head off on a road trip.

Enter Kenneth, a slightly odd grocery-store worker who is building a time machine. Or so he says. Throughout the movie, the audience has to decide if he truly believes he can travel back in time, or if he’s pretending, or what. Is he crazy? Misunderstood? Just lonely?

 

As Darius earns Kenneth’s trust, he puts her through “basic training” exercises, and asks her what her time travel mission is. His is a mission of regret, and love. So is hers, actually. Each of these characters is so mired down by their pasts that they’re having trouble moving on in the present…and at first I thought that was going to be the point of the whole movie, but it ended up being much more than that.

Anyways, I don’t want to give away anything else, but I would highly recommend this movie as a quirky, fun romantic comedy, nothing like the rom-coms that get churned out year after year, but something a little different. Basically, it’s a perfect movie for a hot summer afternoon.

How about you? Have any of you seen this already? Or have any other quirky, fun movies to recommend?

