Tags

, ,

Hi All! This week Heidi, Kati and I have decided to change things up a little bit here at Mystic Cooking. After reading Libba Bray’s The Diviners, which takes place during the Roaring Twenties, we thought it would be fun to do a week of 1920’s inspired posts. We’re going to be talking about slang and jazz, then on Friday we’re all going to do a three-way review of The Diviner’s– or at least that’s the plan. I’m actually only guessing about what Heidi and Kati are going to be posting on; they might post about bootleggers, gangsters, or Gatsby. I don’t know that they’ve decided yet, but I’m sure whatever they write about will be awesome!

Since this blog is called Mystic Cooking, I’m going to start things off with a recipe for New York Egg Cream. Popular in the 1920’s, there were several mentions of this soda in The Diviners, which is why I thought it would be fun to post this recipe. When I was seventeen I drank a lot of Slurpees and Starbucks, so it’s interesting to think this was what some teens in the 1920’s drank.

NEW YORK EGG CREAM

  • Good quality chocolate syrup
  • Chilled milk (I recommend whole milk)
  • Cup chilled sparkling mineral water or soda water
  • Cocoa powder
  1. Carefully pour a good amount of chocolate syrup into the bottom of a tall glass making sure not to drip any on the inside of the glass.
  2.  Pour chilled milk into the glass, on top of the chocolate syrup, until the glass is about half full.
  3. Gradually pour chilled sparkling water next. If any foam rises to the top of the glass take a sip, then continue pouring.
  4. Dust top with cocoa powder.
  5. Stir well before drinking.

I have a confession to make, I haven’t actually tried this recipe, but I think it looks really good, and they still serve it in some New York restaurants, so it must be pretty good. Have any of you tried it? Do any of you think you will?

