Tags

, , , , ,

Happy Fourth of July!

I’ve always loved this day. I love what it stands for and I love the all the different ways there are to celebrate. I feel like the Fourth of July captures the essence of summer.

When I was younger we would go out to my cousin’s house in the country. We’d swim all day, and eat burgers and hotdogs, homemade ice cream and seven-layer dip. After the sun set we’d light off tons of fireworks and sparklers. It was one of the best days of the year.

As a kid I loved being outside. I would spend my summers at the local community pool, getting there when it opened and leaving when it closed. I don’t really swim all that much any more. When I turned eighteen I developed a very odd allergy that doesn’t allow me to swim or go out in the sun much. When I do go to a pool I usually bring a book and sit in the shade with a pair of big sunglasses. For me, summer means lots of reading.

So, in honor of today, I thought I’d put together a list of fun summer reading.

Last week, Kati asked me what some of my favorite love stories were.  So, I’ve decided to share that list with all of you.

These books are in no particular order.

JELLICOE ROAD by Melina Marchetta

Every time I pick this book up, it makes me cry. There are all sorts of love shown in this book, but it’s the reluctant romance between the MC and… well I don’t want to spoil anything, so I’m just going to leave it at that. Bonus: This book is even better the second time around.

IMG_0264

UNEARTHLY by Cynthia Hand

When I think of YA books with good love stories this is the first book that comes to mind. I love the characters in this story, and I feel it is a rare example of a love triangle done really well. Bonus: There’s a whole section of the book that takes place in the summer!

IMG_0260

DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE by Laini Taylor

I almost didn’t put this book on the list. I’m actually not crazy about the romance part of this book, but I think Laini Taylor does a beautiful job showing love between a father and daughter. Bonus: Her writing is absolutely magical.

IMG_0263

THE FAULT IN OUR STARS by John Green

I knew this book was about teenagers with Cancer, so I when I first read it I was completely surprised by its tender love story. Bonus: John Green is one of the few authors who makes me laugh out loud.

IMG_0265

UNDER THE NEVER SKY by Veronica Rossi.

The romance in this story is one of those from hate-to-love relationships, and even though the book only takes place over the course of a couple weeks, the romance builds very naturally. Bonus: This is one of the rare dystopian books that isn’t depressing.

IMG_0266

What about you, what books have some of your favorite love stories? I’m always looking for recommendations. 😉

