Tags

, ,

The other day I was thinking about the important things in life, like vampires. And I realized something – the older I get, the more I understand their appeal.

Let me back up.

A while back AMB wrote a post about reading Harper Lee’s “To Kill a Mockingbird” as a child, and then rereading it now, comparing whether her earlier sense of justice has remained true to the person she is today, and it made me think about how I’ve felt as I’ve aged. Sometimes I worry I’ve lost a bit of that spark, that feeling of being completely 100% passionate about something – as a kid, when I was into something, I was super into it. As an adult, I feel like I usually hang back just a bit.

I’ve also lost some of that sense of certainty, of right versus wrong and fair versus unfair, and the world is more shades of gray than black and white. And maybe that’s not such a bad thing.

But…

I think there’s something to the energy and vitality of youth, and I worry about losing it as I get older, falling more comfortably into a pattern of taking the middle path. And that’s why I can understand why vampires are appealing. Young and beautiful forever, definitely dangerous, and they survive on the blood of others, the vitality and energy and life force of their victims.

So, I’m not saying I’m planning on switching to a liquid diet anytime soon, but when I was younger I’d think – who would want to be a vampire? Sounds tortured and awful! And now…now I sort of get it.

Me as a vampire, courtesy of my cousin

Me as a vampire, courtesy of my cousin

How about you? What are your thoughts on vampires, and have they changed over the years? And if you don’t already, I highly recommend following AMB’s blog, “The Misfortune of Knowing.” I guarantee you’ll learn something new. πŸ™‚

