Tags

, , , , , , ,

Welcome to Fiction Friday! Since we’re in full Sci-fi-tember mode, Kati, Stephanie, and I thought it would be fun to each share our favorite science fiction book. After all, you have the whole weekend ahead of you to check them out. 😉

First up is Stephanie! Take it away!

I’d have to say my favorite science fiction book is READY PLAYER ONE by Ernest Cline. The worldbuilding in this book is incredible. Here’s a blurb from the book’s website:

“–Part quest novel, part love story, and part virtual space opera set in a universe where spell-slinging mages battle giant Japanese robots, entire planets are inspired by Blade Runner, and flying DeLoreans achieve light speed.”

Doesn’t that sound like fun?

The other thing I really love about this book is all its references to movies, TV shows, and video games from the 80’s and 90’s. But even if you didn’t grow up in the 80’s or 90’s, it’s still a really fun story.

Next up? Kati’s choice!

I’m going to have to go with BITING THE SUN by Tanith Lee. I’m not sure if it’s my favorite sci fi book, but it’s definitely one of them. I love the world building and the concepts behind that world. For instance, the people in this world are encouraged to rebel, which makes it almost impossible to actually rebel. And if you die you get to rebuild a body of your own choosing. 

I think the main character is very likable. She spends the whole story trying to find ways to really rebel out of the system, and find a way to make her life meaningful in a world where you’re not supposed to actually do anything productive. I also like the fact that you never find out her name, which makes it seem like you’re the main character, and you’re the one living through this utopian dystopian world.

Fun fact – I originally bought this book just for the cover, but the story did not disappoint me! 

Check out that lovely cover!

And finally, Heidi’s choice!

I’m going with an oldie but a goodie: THE SHIP WHO SEARCHED by Anne McCaffrey and Mercedes Lackey. It has a very strange concept – a seven-year-old girl gets struck by a strange alien virus that paralyzes her, leaving her trapped inside a mechanical support system. Her greatest wish was to see the stars, and now she can’t…until she gets accepted into the Brainship program where they take her body and put it inside the control panel of a spaceship. Now her body is the ship, and she’s able to explore the stars, and look for the cause of the virus that struck her down.

I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve reread this book. Every time it makes me cry, and even though I don’t like crying normally, I keep going back to this. It has one of my absolute favorite love stories, too, which is part of the reason I enjoy it so much, and I love the unique story it tells. Definitely worth picking up!

Now it’s your turn!

What’s your absolute favorite science fiction story? Please share!

