Tags

, , ,

Hey everyone, don’t forget that we are giving away the ARC for Entangled. All you have to do to potentially win this ARC is to vote in our polls, and leave us a comment when you have finished voting.

Last week on Fiction Friday we all talked about our favorite science fiction novel. My original choice was going to be A Wrinkle in Time, but I got into a discussion that got me thinking about whether it was really science fiction, or if it was really fantasy. To me, since there’s space travel, I’ve always considered it more science fiction. However, it was pointed out to me that the way that they travel through space is by essentially using magic, so that would make it more fantasy.

Well, this discussion lead me to start thinking about the difference between the two genres, and what makes a story science fiction versus what makes it fantasy. I guess science fiction would be a story that’s either futuristic, or a story using supposed advance technologies. A lot of times the setting to a science fiction novel either takes place in space, or on a distant planet. Whereas fantasy is generally considered anything imagined, or magical. It seems like most fantasy stories tend to focus on the present or past.

But I feel there are definitely places where these two genres overlap, like A Wrinkle in Time, so I wanted to get your take on the two genres. Can you think of any other books or movies that could be defined as both fantasy and science fiction? Also, in what genre do you think you would put A Wrinkle in Time?

