Tags

, , , , , , ,

I read Maggie Stiefvater’s “Raven Boys” a while back and loved it. It felt different from every other YA book I’d read that year, and I really enjoyed the beautiful prose, unique characters, and strangely hard-to-define plot. Even now looking back I couldn’t tell you exactly what that book was about, and I love that it can’t be summed up so easily.

When the second book came out I was super excited, but also nervous; often I’ve found the sequels don’t quite live up to the first installment. I shouldn’t have worried. “The Dream Thieves” was every bit as unique and strange and mysterious. I still loved “Raven Boys” a little better, but as a sequel, this book was solid.

“The Dream Thieves” spent a little more time with Ronan’s character. A tormented boy, he is a mix of good and bad – he can be very cruel, but also is unfailingly loyal to his friends. And he has a secret: he can take things from his dreams, and they become real.

Sometimes these are good things, like his pet crow, Chainsaw. And other times, they are the horrors that plague his mind, following him out into the world, out of his control.

This book also follows Adam a little more, and the consequences of his sacrifice in the first book. I felt like Gansey took a little bit of a backseat in some ways to these two, although I enjoyed the continuing development of his relationship with Blue, and of his search for the king.

Blue is still one of my favorites. A complex heroine, she’s strong without being a physically strong force, and I love her sensible voice and her relationships with her very strange family.

Anyways, I don’t want to say any more and give anything away, but if you liked “Raven Boys,” I’m almost certain you’ll enjoy “The Dream Thieves.” And if you haven’t read either of them, well, there’s a whole weekend ahead of you… 😉  I’d also highly recommend getting the audio version narrated by Will Paton.

How about you? Been pleasantly surprised by any book sequels lately? Or horribly disappointed?

