Tags

, , , , ,

*UPDATE: I know it says Movie Monday…but don’t worry, you’re not stuck in some kind of Monday-repeating loop. A certain sister of mine jumped the gun on her own post so we just swapped days. Carry on. 🙂 *

Just last week, we watched Pacific Rim, a movie about people defending the Earth from giant aliens by piloting giant robots to fight them. It was pretty enjoyable, and for an action movie done by Guillermo del Toro, the same director for Pan’s Labyrinth, the tone throughout was surprisingly light.

One thing that I really liked about this movie is that it was everything that I expected. I went into it expecting to see some awesome special effects and some robot versus alien action scenes, and that’s what I got. It was very much like an anime made into a live action film. If you have ever seen the anime Evangelion, this is like a shorter, much more happy version of it.

This movie does, however, rely heavily on stereotypes to take the place of character development. Normally, this would annoy me, but with this type of story, too much character development and back story would have made the pace too slow, so I was okay with it. What I was not okay with was the two annoying scientists. I feel that those two characters unnecessarily dumbed down the movie.

All in all, it was a fun movie to watch. I would not call it great, but if you are looking for a fun science fiction action movie, this one is worth checking out. Just don’t go into it expecting a fantastic plot and great character growth, since it is essentially pure action.

So how about you? Have you seen Pacific Rim yet? What did you think of it?

