Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Winter fun

Hi, all! In case you missed the announcement earlier this month, Pitch Wars is back! This year I get to be a mentor, and today is the day we get to post our wish lists!

So Here’s My Wish List:

If you write YA fantasy, thrillers, paranormal or science fiction, I am your girl!

For the fantasy, paranormals, & sci-fi, I don’t care if it’s set in our world or another world. If your book has a strong magical/paranormal/ supernatural/science fiction element, please send it to me. I’m a big fan of time travel, historical fantasy, fairy tale retellings, stories that have curses, and anything with a magical feel. I especially love books that have a romance element. I like love triangles, swoony kisses, and books where the love interests start out hating each other.

I also love fast paced thrillers. They can either be full of action or just full of suspense. I like creepy, I like mystery. And I especially love really well developed villains, and books where I’m never sure who’s good or bad.

Some Of My Favorite Books Include:

DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE by Laini Taylor
THE LUMATERE CHRONICLES by Melina Marchetta
THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS by Rae Carson
UNDER THE NEVER SKY by Veronica Rossi
ALL OUR YESTERDAYS by Cristin Terrill
THE VAMPIRE ACADEMY SERIES by Richelle Mead
THE ACROSS THE UNIVERSE TRILOGY by Beth Revis
UNEARTHLY TRILOGY by Cynthia Hand
THRONE OF GLASS by Sarah J. Maas
GRAVE MERCY by Robin LaFevers
SHADOW AND BONE by Leigh Bardugo
ALICE IN ZOMBIELAND by Gena Showalter
THE DIVERGENT SERIES by Veronica Roth
ALTERED by Jennifer Rush
HEMLOCK by Kathleen Peacock

If you could use any of these books as comp titles please send me an application on December 2!

A Little More About Me:

IMG_0245I write young adult science fiction and fantasy, and I’m represented by Jessica Negrón of Talcott Notch Literary. When I’m not writing, I teach Advanced Creative Writing at a private Christian college in northern California. I think it’s the best job ever. I get paid to talk about books and writing and work with some incredible students. I’m addicted to Honeycrsip apples and frozen chocolate chip cookies. One of my not-so-secret goals is to get into Club 33 at Disneyland—because really, what could be more exciting than getting into a top secret club that’s located inside one of the most magical places on earth?

When it comes to critiquing, my strengths lie in pacing, world building, and opening chapters. I was a mentee during Pitch Wars last year, so I understand how it feels to be submitting for this crazy contest. I worked with The Amazing Elizabeth Briggs, and if you’re thinking about pitching to me, you should also consider her. Not only is Liz a total editing ninja and a fantastic human being, we also tend to have similar taste in books (or mostly similar tastes).

If you want to know anything else about me, check out this interview, or feel free to look around our blog.

For submission guidelines and links to all the other awesome Pitch Wars mentors, check out Brenda Drake’s Blog. I tried to link to all of them from here, but my links didn’t want to work.

And Now, Here Is This Year’s Awesome List Of Participating Agents:

PitchWars Snowball

1.    Louise FuryBent Agency

2.     Suzie TownsendNew Leaf Literary

3.    Nicole  RescinitiThe Seymour Agency

4.    John M. CusickThe Greenhouse Agency

5.     Sarah LaPollaBradford Literary Agency

6.     Victoria MariniGelfman Schneider Literary Agency

7.     Jessica SinsheimerSarah Jane Freymann Literary Agency

8.     Pamvan Hylckama VliegForeword Literary

9.     Quinlan LeeAdams Literary

10.   Jen UddenDonald Maass Literary Agency

11.   Emily KeyesForeward Literary

12.   Brianne JohnsonWriters House

13.   Carly Watters P.S. Literary

14.   LanaPopovic and Natasha Alexis – Zachary Shuster Harmsworth

15.   Molly JaffaFolio Literary Management

16.   Evan GregorgyEthan Ellenberg Literary Agency  

17.   Rena Rossner – The Deborah Harris Agency

Isn’t that an awesome list of agents? I’m really excited!

If you have any questions for me please let me know. I always respond to comments.

~Stephanie

SECRET LETTER: E