Tags

, ,

Friends, I have been suffering from a lack of momentum. It’s been weeks since I regularly posted here, and the other day when I sat down to write, my mind felt completely blank, my fingers managed to stutter out a few weak sentences, and I ended up deleting the whole thing and taking a nap.

I have, in short, fallen into the writing equivalent of “couch-lock.” It’s been a real problem, but I realized the only cure was to just get off my butt and write a post. It might not be pretty, but at least it’s out there. And that is exactly how to create momentum. You just have to start, and then after that it’s easy. Well, easier.

For me, blogging momentum and writing momentum are created the same way, so in 2014 my goal is to write a little every day, even if it’s just for five minutes, so I can keep that momentum going. I’ve found that as long as I’m writing, I keep thinking of more things to write about, but just like with blogging, if I don’t write for a while the ideas dry up.

How about you? How do you create momentum if it’s been a while since your last post/story/writing session?

See? Total couch lock...but at least my laptop's open, right? ;)

See? Total couch lock…but at least my laptop’s open, right? 😉

