Tags

, , , ,

Hi everyone! Kati reporting in for Fiction Friday! It feels like it has been ages since I’ve done a post. Well, I promise I’ll tell you all why I disappeared so long later, in a different post…maybe in April. πŸ™‚

For today’s Fiction Friday I read Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout, and while I liked it quite a bit, there are definitely some cliched themes going on in it.

Pretty much it followed the paranormal pattern of: new girl moves to a small town, she meets her hot neighbor, her neighbor is a jerk, she finds herself liking him despite his jerkiness, he saves her, she finds out he’s not human…and in this case an uber powerful alien.

Anyhoo…I’m not really doing the book justice by describing it like that, however, that is pretty much how the story goes. But what I really liked about the book is that the main character, Katy, is actually pretty awesome, and doesn’t really put up with the uber powerful alien Daemon’s jerk ways. The other thing I really like is that Daemon’s twin sister is pretty flipping likeable. She is definitely my favorite character in the whole book. If you want to read a summary of the book that does it justice, check it out here.

This book has a fantastic YA voice, and even though Daemon is a super jerk, the chemistry between him and Katy is pretty sexy.Β  πŸ˜‰

Now I’m not going to say that you need to drop what you’re reading right now to read Obsidian, but if you are looking for a fun YA romance, I do think you should pick this one up. It is very quick paced, and the character’s wit is really quite charming. Plus the ending was a bit of a surprise and broke away from the traditional paranormal romance pattern.

So how about you all? What books have you read since the last time I did a post? Have you read this book before? Have you heard of it?

