Tags

, , , ,

Short and Sweet

ELUSION by Claudia Gabel and Cheryl Klam is full of awesome science fiction, fast paced mystery, and dangerous romance. I picked it up because I was in the mood for a good science fiction, and it didn’t disappoint!

For those of you not familiar with ELUSION, here’s a short summary:

In a future full of acid rain, and air pollution levels that make it dangerous to breathe outdoors, Regan’s father has created Elusion, a type of virtual reality that allows users to escape into a more beautiful world.

The book takes place several months after Regan’s father’s death, right before Elusion is about to be released nationwide. Regan is still grieving her dad, when rumors surface that Elusion is addictive and dangerous.

Regan is the first to defend her father’s work. But as Regan seeks to prove there’s no problem with Elusion, she begins to discover dangerous secrets, and…I’m not going to give anymore away.

If you want to know more, you’re going to have to read the book. And this is book I would recommend.

My review:

Lately I’ve been a little burnt out with anything that feels like dystopian, but rather than focusing on the problems of this society ELUSION focused mostly on the technology of Elusion. There’s a lot of mystery as Regan searches for the truth as to whether or not Elusion is addictive and dangerous, and I found myself turning pages really fast. I liked that the emphasis was more about solving a mystery, and not so much about the state of the world, or bringing down a corrupt government—in fact there was no mention of government at all.

But there was a romance, and since I don’t like to give too much away, I’ll just say I really liked the way this romance was done. Romance definitely played a significant role in this story, but at the same time it never overshadowed Regan’s real goals. Her focus stayed on Elusion and the many mysteries she uncovered as sought to figure out if there was truth to the claims it was harmful and addictive. I really liked her as a character!

One of ELUSION’s authors, Claudia Gabel, is a Senior Executive Editor at Katherine Tegen Books, and it was very obvious as I read. The writing was clean, the characters were multi-dimensional, and as I’ve already said, the fast pacing made it difficult for me to put this book down.

My only complaint is that I would have liked the ending to wrap up a little more. I’m not sure I would call the ending a cliff-hanger, but it definitely left me wanting the next book. That being said, if you’re looking for an easy science fiction read and you don’t mind a little dystopian flavor, I would say ELUSION by Claudia Gabel and Cheryl Klam is worth picking up.

So, what about all of you, have any of you read this? Or do any of you have any other good science fiction recommendations? Now that it’s summer and I have more time to read, I’m looking for some good books!

~Stephanie

