Tags

, ,

Heidi reporting here from the colds of Detroit. There is some strange white substance falling from the sky as I type. I can’t quite figure out what it is…looks like frozen water? So weird… 😉

Yesterday, to beat this very cold weather, my older sister and I retreated to the movie theaters where we watched Disney’s Big Hero 6. I’ve been wanting to see this movie ever since I watched the trailer, and I’m so glad I finally saw it. It lived up to my expectations and more.

Big Hero 6 is a great movie with amazing graphics and fun characters. It’s set in the futuristic city of San Fransokyo, and looks exactly like you’d think. The main character is a 14 year-old-genius who is dealing with the loss of his older brother, helped along in part by Baymax, the robot his brother designed. There are other cool inventions, some awesome superhero suits designed along the lines of Iron Man, and, of course, an epic battle against a super villain. The whole movie has this really fun comic book feel, and it’s impossible not to like Baymax, who is the best robot ever. 🙂

Be warned, unless your heart is ice you will totally cry during this movie. It’s not as sad as Up, but I’d recommend keeping a tissue box nearby. There are also plenty of laugh-out-loud moments, and a fun storyline with lots of action that will keep kids and adults entertained throughout. The only criticism I have is on the villain, who I felt wasn’t fleshed out enough, and whose actions didn’t quite seem justified by the brief bit of backstory given.

However, that being said, it’s definitely a movie worth seeing, and with those amazing special effects and graphics, a movie worth seeing on the big screen.

Have any of you seen this movie yet? What did you think?

