Tags

, , ,

So last week we got a new puppy. Here’s a picture of him:

Gomukha_blog

All was well and good. Until the battle of the names began.

You see, I wanted to name him “Oz,” short for “Ozymandias,” from the poem by Percy Bysshe Shelley. One, because I think it’s a good, cute name for a little dog, and two, because that’s an awesome poem.

My husband wanted to name him Gomukha.

ME: Gomukha? Why Gomukha?Β How did you even come up with that?

SEAN: It’s Sanskrit.

ME: Oh, this is one of those yoga things, isn’t it?

SEAN: …maybe.

ME: Fine. What’s it mean?

SEAN: <pause> Uh, it means “cow-face.”

cow face_blog

ME: Okay. I guess that’s appropriate.

And so the puppy became “Gomukha,” or “Gomu” for short. Poor little guy. πŸ˜‰

I’ve always had a hard time picking a name. When I write, I usually just choose the first name that pops into my head, and then promise myself I’ll go back and replace it later. Sometimes I do, and sometimes the instant name sticks. But I know if I spend too much time deliberating on the names at the start, I’ll waste hours on sites like Behind the Name, and I’ll never get past that first page.

How about you? How do you choose your names?

"nom nom nom..."

“nom nom nom…”

