Tags

, ,

Youtube recently launched a #DearMe campaign in honor of International Women’s Day. It’s a great idea – people post a video where they tell their teenage selves advice. I know I have a lot of advice for young Heidi. In lieu of a video, I thought I’d post it here.

First of all, young me, remember that paperwork never goes away. So just sticking it in a drawer and not filling it out will not help you. It will still be sitting there, looming, waiting to be filled in, and eventually your decision to ignore it will catch up to you. This happens repeatedly. Stop it.

Also revisions really are necessary. I know you think you wrote it the way it was meant to be written the first time, but seriously, who are you fooling? That first draft is just the very beginning; the revisions are where the story actually takes shape. You’re not “ruining your vision” when you go back and change things.

And yes, someday you will have a dog. And yes, I’m going to tell you what everyone’s always told you – dogs are a lot of work. But so worth it. In fact, everything that matters in life is a lot of work, so it’s good to get used to it.

Finally, stop worrying so much. Things always seem to work out. And remember, I think you’re awesome. 😉

Me and my sisters back in '98

Me and my sisters back in ’98. 

How about you? What advice would you give your younger self?

 

