Tags

, , , ,

Looking for an exciting read? Want gothic horror, a kick butt heroine, romance, monsters, sword fights, and magic? Then definitely check out Love in a Time of Monsters! Teresa Yea is one of my critique partners. She is a fantastic writer, and I’m super excited to announce that her book comes out today!

We invited her to our blog in honor of her book’s birthday to answer a few questions.

HEIDI: Teresa, thanks so much for joining us! First, can you tell us a little about yourself?

TERESA: I’m a UCLA graduate, science geek by degree, bookworm at heart. I can quote all of Pulp Fiction and annoy you to no end. My favorite musical of all time is Phantom of the Opera and I can usually be found in my car singing along to Music of the Night with dramatic hand gestures. Of the things I love most in the world (besides reading, writing, and TV show-binges) is a long nap.

HEIDI: Phantom of the Opera is definitely my favorite, too!

KATI: Heidi’s also good at annoying people to no end; I can see why you get along. 😉

HEIDI: Grr…

KATI: Ahem. Moving on. Teresa, what inspired you to write Love in a Time of Monsters?

TERESA: I’ve always admired the storytelling and perfect execution of Hitchcockian suspense in Jaws, i.e. scaring the audience without ever showing the monster. Then one day I was admiring the characters’ tweed hunting outfits in Downton Abbey and everything clicked.

KATI: Downton Abbey and Jaws sounds like such an intriguing combination. I have to read this book!

HEIDI: You really do. It would be right up your alley. There’s a great “shade of grey” character who isn’t exactly good…but isn’t exactly bad, either. I know those are your favorite kind of characters. And speaking of flawed characters, Teresa, you write such strong, complex heroines, tough yet struggling with this internal darkness. What draws you to these kinds of characters?

TERESA: Because I, too, have a demon inside of me! Existential angst is not something that could be put into words but could only be expressed in dramatic hand gestures.

KATI: Definitely true. What’s your favorite book and/or author?

TERESA: The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare. I’ve read it 12 times and it never gets old. Then there’s the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon, which I highly recommend because it has the sexiest man alive who isn’t actually real.
And Lisa Kleypas and her spectacular Wallflower series.

KATI: I haven’t read the other books, but I loved The Witch of Blackbird Pond!

HEIDI: I’ll have to re-read it, but I remember Nat being pretty much the perfect man. 😉

KATI: This leads us to our final question, the one we always have to ask anyone we interview.

HEIDI: Oh no, not the island question!

KATI: Yes. It’s super important. Teresa, if you were stranded on a deserted island, which fictional character would you want to keep you company and why?

TERESA: Jaime Fraser from Outlander because he knows how to live in nature. I also expect sexy times in tropic climes and believe he is the best fictional character to help me with that.

HEIDI: Great answer! Thanks, Teresa, for stopping by and answering our questions!

And if you have any other questions for Teresa, you can find her at her website at Teresayea.com, or follow her on twitter. And if you want to check out her book, Love in a Time of Monsters is available here:

Goodreads
Amazon
Kobo
iBooks
Google Play
Barnes and Noble

